Before You Sell or Lease Your Property, Get This Certificate

When you want to sell or let a property in London, the easiest path is to work with estate agents in Buckhurst Hill. These people can market your home and building and tap into their vast network of buyers and lessees.

Before you do that, though, the UK government wants you to get a document called energy performance certificate (EPC). You can learn more about it by reading the facts below:

1. What Is Energy Performance Certificate?

This is a certificate that indicates the energy efficiency or performance of a residential property or a commercial building. It is valid for ten years and can cost as little as £35, although it depends on factors such as:

  • Areas that need checking
  • Age of the property
  • Size of the building

Some structures might no longer need it. These include places of worship, industrial buildings and warehouses that don’t use too much energy, and temporary structures that are good for only four months or less. When in doubt, you can approach your local council for information.

2. Who Should Get It and Perform the Assessment?

Only the landlord or the property owner can get an EPC. They also cannot pass on the cost of the application to their buyer or tenant.

When you’re ready to get your EPC, you can look for your domestic energy assessor. Usually, your real estate agent can help you find one. They might also recommend assessors in their network.

3. How Does the Assessment Process Work?

First, you need to request for a domestic energy assessor to visit your home or commercial property. Not everyone can check your building immediately. In some cases, it might take days or weeks. Make sure you schedule your appointment as soon as you can.

Once the assessor is there, they will perform a visual inspection of the place. Some of the areas they check include:

  • Heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning systems
  • Cavities on the walls
  • Floor insulation
  • Lighting
  • Water
  • Windows and roofs

The process can take 40 minutes. It can be longer if they’re checking multiple rooms or the property is big. The assessor will then have to generate a report based on their findings and then lodge it to the national register. The data is public.

Energy efficiency

4. What Is the Energy Efficiency Rating?

Also known as EER, this is not the same rating you see on appliances, although the purpose is the same. It tells you how efficient your property is in conserving or using energy.

There are seven levels of EER in an EPC. The highest is a score of 92 and above, which is also A. The lowest is G, which is a score between 1 and 20. The passing grade is E, which is 39 to 54.

The EER will also show you the current and potential energy-efficient scores, so you will know how much you can save in running costs if you improve the property’s energy efficiency.

Getting an EPC is a legal requirement since 2009. Not following the rules can mean a fine. If you don’t meet the ideal band, it’s okay. You can still use the certificate to improve your property and then go through a reassessment.

Share this with other:
Scroll to Top